Invidia starts back in 1807 in France during a time of turmoil and unrest where Annabel, an unusual yet popular girl, has nightmares about what her family’s enemies did to the ones she loved the most. She is in a different time now, and she has to be careful not to show any of the other girls around her at high school that she is much different than they are – especially where her new boyfriend, Derrick is concerned.

It isn’t all doom and gloom though.  Annabel has a close-knit circle of friends who are vampires just like her, yet she yearns to be a normal girl who eats, sleeps normally and enjoys the things most human girls her age would. To enjoy her time with Derrick would be great if she was human, but the chances of that are slim.

Derrick wants her to have a normal life too, and he wants her to change him into a vampire, but Annabel refuses to do it. She doesn’t see how he can be ready for living the life of a ravenous vampire, even if he insists he will be fine. There are aspects of vampire life he hasn’t even given a thought.  Derrick could be in for a shock as he lives around the vampire girls, but in some ways he could be safer than if he was with other humans.

Annabel, Derrick and her small group of friends have a good life together, but there’s always something that can happen when they least expect it. I liked the way the story starts with that leap into a period drama, the look, and the setting up of the characters.

In many novels of this type, there is always one girl or guy who wants to become one of the undead, and who thinks it will be a great idea, but more often than not, it never turns out that way.   What interested me most was how Nicci brought me into the minds of the vampires, their thoughts, their worries, how less romantic the life of a vampire seemed to them, and what they think is expected of them in life even though they are acting as teenagers.

 

—————————————————————-

 

From The Official Website of Nicci Sefton

 

It’s been two months since his girlfriend, Annabell, defeated her enemy. It’s Halloween and everything seems to be going fine. And why not, when he’s Derrick Clark, the new hottie at Madison High and he’s dating one of the most gorgeous, popular girls ever… who just happens to be the new Queen of the undead…

As if high school isn’t hard enough, just think how hard it is to get his vampire girlfriend out of his head and stay focused on school. Then, without warning, Derrick has to deal with yet another vampire who has his eyes on Annabell, and who may have an ulterior motive for arriving.

As their relationship deepens, Derrick and Annabell must face new peril as Annabell takes on the role of Queen and is threatened by old enemies who destroyed her family and now seek to take her crown.

 

Have you read Invidia? If so, leave a comment and let us know what you thought.

Tessa Dawn has blown me away with Blood Awakening, the second book in her Blood Curse series. After reading the first book in the series, Blood Destiny, I had already fallen in love with the brothers of Dark Moon Vale. Blood Awakening brings us the story of Marquis Silivasi, the family elder and the most harsh and ruthless of all the brothers. His character was so captivating in the first book I was very anxious to read his story—Tessa Dawn did not disappoint me! Blood Awakening was amazing and, in my opinion, even better than the first book. We really got to see a lot more of the history behind the House of Jadon and House of Jaegar and the emotional struggles they each have faced. There were some scenes that were pretty graphic (rape and infanticide) and difficult to read, but it was really a necessary part of the book to get a true understanding of the viciousness and deeply evil existence of the Jaegar House. There were a few times in the first book I felt “sorry” for the men in the House of Jaegar, but the second book took care of that!

Blood Awakening is a fast paced, highly-addictive addition to the Blood Curse series! This series is a must read for fans of authors like Christine Feehan, Christina Dodd, and Lara Adrian.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

From TessaDawn.com

A dangerous game of life, blood, and survival…

Marquis Silivasi is a loner—an ancient vampire known to be merciless, harsh, and unforgiving. He has lived to see his dark twin sacrificed, his parents hunted, and the one soul he was sworn to protect, destroyed by his enemy.

When a mysterious female with a secret past shows up in Dark Moon Vale, her presence sets off a strange set of events: It is as if she has awakened the sleeping soul of the valley…and the Curse of Marquis’s birth.

Bound to each other by primeval law, the two must forge their way through an ever growing maze of danger, deception, and destiny. They must find salvation in a world without mercy, where survival demands a chilling BLOOD AWAKENING.

 

Have you read Blood Awakening? If so leave a comment and let us know what you thought.

Congratulations to Tami (11), Kendra J (10), and Audrey K (4)! You were the winners in Geatriz’s Delight in Cruelty Giveaway! You will receive an email shortly with instructions on how to claim your prize. If I have not gotten a response within 14 days a new winner will be chosen.

A big thank you to our featured author Geatriz and publisher Bardish Arts for this wonderful giveaway.

Our featured author, Geatriz, along with her publisher Bardish Arts, has generously offered 3 lucky winners their own copy of her fantastic new release, Delight in Cruelty.

 

To enter, head over to our Featured Author Interview with Geatriz and leave a comment.

 

*Winners will be randomly chosen on Friday, July 15th. Only one entry per person. Duplicate entries will be removed.*

Ladies and Gentlemen, please welcome a new name on the Vampire Romance scene, Geatriz, author of the stunning book Delight in Cruelty.

Geatriz has taken some time to answer some questions for all the readers here at VRB. Without further ado, I give you GEATRIZ.

New author, Geatriz, brings you a vampire romance book that’s uniquely dark and just might have you questioning your morals because you can’t stop reading the wickedness that is Delight in Cruelty. The viscous vampire, Yuzuki, is a character that I’m almost scared to say I loved (not sure what that says about my character).  Her actions in this book are so dark and twisted, yet I found them humorous because she is so lackadaisical about it. You realize there is a lot more to Yuzuki than meets the eye once we delve into her long torturous past. Along with Yuzuki, we meet the sexy immortal, Sole, (never found out what exactly he is) and a down on her luck vampire hunter, Miranda. While their characters are good, they don’t compare to Yuzuki, but they are great supporting roles, showing us more about Yuzuki.

This book is only 170 pages but is well written and ends in such a way that makes you wonder what they are all up to now. We can always hope that the author will continue their stories. This vampire romance is more of a gothic romance with some humor added in than a true “romance”. There is a HEA, but it’s not the typical love-conquers-all ending we’re used to in this genre.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

From Geatriz’s Official Website

A story of three different characters that somehow find themselves together. Yuzuki, a vicious vampire with barely a care for anyone’s life, even her own. Sole, an immortal that finds himself as Yuzuki’s pet… and likes it. Miranda, a vampire hunter that is too broke to afford… well anything. Hunting vampires doesn’t pay the bills.

Here are the known upcoming releases by your favorite author’s for July 2011.
If we have missed a title, please leave comment with the title, release date, and author name.


 

ANT: ANTHOLOGY/COLLECTION OF SHORT STORIES
A: ANGELS/GUARDIANS/GODS
AGT: AGENTS/SPY/SPECIAL OPS/FEDS
D: DRAGONS
DE: DEMONS
E: EROTICA
FE: FAE/FAERIES/ELVES 
FY: FANTASY
GH: GHOSTS/SPIRITS
H: HISTORICAL
HL: HIGHLANDERS
HMR: HUMOR
MG: MAGIC
MY: MYSTERY 
OMN: OMNIBUS
PSY: PSYCHIC/ESP
RR: RE-RELEASE
SCI: SCI-FI
SH: SHIFTERS/WERE
UF: URBAN FANTASY
V: VAMPIRES 
VK: VIKINGS
WH: WITCH/WARLOCK
WR: WARRIORS/BROTHERHOODS
YA: YOUNG ADULT
Z: ZOMBIES

 

July 1st

IN THE HEAT OF THE BITE: GENTLEMAN VAMPIRE #2
LYDIA DARE
V, W

TOUCH IF YOU DARE: SOULFIRE #2
STEPHANIE ROWE
WR

CHANGELING DREAM: CHANGELING #2
(kindle edition)
DANI HARPER
SH

DARK AWAKENING: DARK DYNASTIES #1
(kindle edition)
KENDRA LEIGH CASTLE
V, SH

WHAT A GODDESS WANTS: FORGOTTEN GODDESS #1
Stephanie Julian
MG

WOLF TALES #12 (kindle edition)
KATE DOUGLAS
SH, E

 

July 4th

BOND WITH ME: FALLEN ANGEL #1
ANNE MARSH
DE

 

July 5th

CONSPIRACIES: SHADOW GRAIL #2
MERCEDES LACKEY
YA, MG

NAKED CITY: TALES OF URBAN FANTASY
20 MISC AUTHORS
UF, ANT

MYSTERIA NIGHTS
P.C.CAST, GENA SHOWALTER, MARYJANICE DAVIDSON, SUSAN GRANT
ANT

VALHALLA: VALKYRIE #2
MANDY M ROTH
V, RR

SAVAGE KINGDOM
DEANNA ASHFORD
E, WH

DECEIVED BY THE OTHERS:
H & W INVESTIGATIONS #3
JESS HAINES
V, UF,  SH

VAMPIRE INSTINCT: VAMPIRE QUEEN #7
JOEY W HILL
V, SH

SIRENSONG: FAERIEWALKERS #3
JENNA BLACK
FE, YA

SKIN DIVE: SKIN SERIES #4
AVA GRAY
WR, MG

NIGHT VEIL: INDIGO COURT #2
YASMINE GALENORN
UF, FE, MG

UNDEAD AND UNDERMINED: QUEEN BETSY #10
MARYJANICE DAVIDSON
V

COLD TOUCH: EXTRASENSORY AGENTS #2
LESLIE PARRISH
MG

REVELATION: DE LA VEGA CATS #2
LAUREN DANE
WH, SH, E

BLOODLUST: NIGHTSHADE #2
MICHELLE ROWEN
UF, V

BREAKING WAVES: FORCES OF NATURE #3
VIVIAN AREND
E, SH

VIPER MOON: NOVEL OF EARTH WITCHES #1
LEE ROLAND
UF, WH

GRAVE DANCE: ALEX CRAFT #2
KALAYNA PRICE
UF, WH, MG

BLOOD SECRETS: ALEXANDRA SABIAN #2
JEANNIE HOLMES
V, UF

 

July 12th

FOREVER: WOLVES OF MERCY FALLS #3
MAGGIE STIEFVATER
YA, WH

WILDCAT FIREFLIES: MERIDIAN #2
AMBER KIZER
YA, FE

UNDERCURRENT: SIREN TRILOGY #2
TRICIA RAYBURN
YA, SH

 

July 19th

CODE OF THE WOLF: 19TH CENTURY WEREWOLF #8
SUSAN KRINARD
SH

ASHES OF ANGELS: OF ANGELS AND DEMONS #3
MICHELE HAUF
DE

 

July 26th

SHADOWFLAME: SHADOW WORLD #2
DIANNE SYLVAN
V, UF

TOUCH OF FROST: MYTHOS ACADEMY #1
JENNIFER ESTEP
YA, MG, WH

WOLFSBANE: NIGHTSHADE #2
ANDREA CREMER
YA, WH

BLACK NIGHT: BLACK WING #2
CHRISTINA HENRY
UF, DE

RUSH OF PLEASURE: PRIMAL INSTINCT #8
RHYANNON BYRD
MG

HIS DARKEST SALVATION: JAGUAR WARRIOR #3
JULIANA STONE
WR, SH

IMPROPER GENTLEMEN
DIANE WHITESIDE, MAGGIE ROBINSON, MIA MARLOWE
ANT

TEMPTATION ISLAND
LORIE O’CLARE

SEDUCE ME IN FLAMES: THREE WORLDS #2
JACQUELYN FRANK
UF, SCI

BLOODLANDS: NOVEL OF BLOODLANDS #3
CHRISTINE CODY
V

BOUND BY MOONLIGHT: MOONLIGHT #4
NANCY GIDEON
SH

THE LOST: SIN HUNTERS #3
CARIDAD PINEIRO
SH, UF


SPELL BOUND: OTHERWORLD #12
KELLEY ARMSTRONG
MG, WH

SHADOW FALL: SHADOWCHASERS #3
SERESSIA GLASS
UF
Recent Forum Posts